#WorldCup2018: “I Don’t Know Why I Didn’t Award Penalty To Nigeria” – Turkish Referee Tells John Mikel Obi

0
109

Super Eagles captain, John Mikel Obi is still finding it hard to understand why Turkish referee Cüneyt Çak?r, who officiated Nigeria vs Argentina refused to award them a penalty following a handball by Argentine defender Marcos Rojo in the box last night.

Speaking at a press conference with coach Gernot Rohr, the former Chelsea star said after the game the whole team watched the clip and they confirmed it was a clear handball and penalty should have been given by the referee.

Mikel said:

“I asked the referee if he thought the ball struck Rojo’s hand and he said ‘yes;. The referee told me that the ball came off Rojo’s head before it hit his hand.”

Mikel added:

”I then asked Cakur why he didn’t award the penalty to Nigeria, he said: ‘I don’t know.’ That was sad because we checked the match video in the dressing room and it was a clear penalty kick.

“When the ball touches your hand in the penalty box, it’s a penalty. No two ways about that. Maybe he didn’t want to give us the second penalty. It is sad we had to exit the competition this way.

Speaking about his future with the national team, Mikel said he would be most delighted to lead the boys going further into the future.

I’m happy playing with this bunch of players. I expect them to grow into a great side and I think this team would make a good impression in the next four years. They are good boys with bright future,” he said.

“Of course, we did everything we could; we pushed and pushed to get the goal but it was not to be.

“We want to thank all Nigerians for their support; we have to keep going.”

Watch the video below:

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here